Hot on the trail

I was enjoying a pleasant walk along a quiet track with one of my bipeds when I picked up a fresh scent that interested me. I put my nose down and moved forward as quickly as I could, doing my best impression of a Bloodhound. My biped didn’t seem to want to move as quickly as I did. Each time I tried to go a bit faster she told me to stop pulling. I paused and slowed each time so that she wouldn’t stop and refuse to move and then I put my nose back on the trail.

Once I almost lost it, as there was a large puddle that was as wide as the track. I zigzagged back and forth across the track on the other side sniffing really hard, until I found it again. My biped laughed and said I was snorting like a pig! I ignored her, she obviously has no idea how to examine a smell – it’s important to exhale thoroughly before inhaling a brand new batch of air. I suppose this does sound a little like snorting, but at least I don’t spit like wine tasters do!

I continued along the track with my nose down for quite a distance. We turned a corner and there were less trees. I heard my biped say, “Oh, that’s what’s so interesting!”

I didn’t bother to check what it was that she found interesting. I heard her tell me that sometimes it’s easier to look, but I didn’t look up – this scent trail was important and I wanted to follow it as quickly as possible so that I could catch up with the source of the scent. My biped told me to stop pulling a few more times and then I heard her say hello to someone, but I didn’t take much notice as I knew I was getting close and I didn’t want to lose the scent.

Then I heard another biped say, “What are you tracking, Clowie?”

I kept my nose down – I knew I was getting really close and I didn’t want to be distracted. Then I heard my friend Sandy greet me with a friendly, “Woof, woof!”

This time I looked up – it was his trail I’d been following! He was only a few yards away and he was watching me and wagging his tail. I’d been hoping to surprise him, but it didn’t matter. We sniffed each other and then we strolled back to the village together. Our bipeds were chatting away to each other about nothing of any importance, while Sandy and I discussed the finer points of following a trail efficiently.

The bipeds seem to think it’s funny when dogs are sniffing away and not seeing what’s almost under their noses. I think that’s rather ironic, a case of the pot calling the kettle black, when bipeds usually search for something using their eyes and don’t smell what’s right under their noses!

See you next Wednesday!

87 thoughts on “Hot on the trail

  1. You are so right Clowie – we do miss most of the scents sent from heaven! We call our girl dog, Millie, a warthog when she makes those snort sounds while tracking a good whiff.

  2. haha! The bi peds talking about nothing of importance! BOL!!!! Clowie you are to funny!!!
    Well I am glad you found what you were looking for anyways! Good thing it was your furriend and not some spikey porcupine or you coulda had a nose full of quills!!!! Silly pup!
    Hope you had a fun trail walk!

    ღ husky hugz ღ frum our pack at Love is being owned by a husky!

    • I’m glad I made you laugh! I did have a lot of fun. We don’t have any porcupines, but I suppose there are other things that could hurt my nose!

  3. Whee have good noses too. Whee can always smell when the hoomans are daring to eat a piece of fruit of veggie in our presence, or even in the other room!

    Nacho, Noah, Buddy & Basil
    xxxx

  4. mollieandalfie

    Wow Clowie, great nose work there 🙂 I can always sniff out when that Furball has been in my bed BOL. Catch ya next week xxoxx

    Mollie and Alfie

  5. Clowie, the NOSE always KNOWS! Good for you tracking so well…….

    Hugs, Sammy

  6. Clowie great nose work!! I took the boys for a work today around the property and funny I couldn’t smell a thing!!! but boy they knew where Roos and snakes and lizards and echidnas and rabbits had been….and the yukky bits they leave behind!!! hugs Fozziemum x

    • Thank you! I’m sure your boys do know what’s been hopping around your place, and how long ago. My bipeds always laugh when we go out in snow that has been around for a day or two and now has yellow patches etc – they say they can then see what I’m sniffing at and sometimes they’d prefer not to know!

      • Hahahaah I can only imagine Clowie….we never get snow..but I do know that a scent that is recent is around when me walking them becomes them walking me!! but boy it was like a roo poo buffet today….yetch!! Hugs Fozziemum xx

        • I’d like to sniff that! I’d probably get quite excited because I haven’t sniffed that type of poo!

          • I bet you would Clowie…perhaps even more than sniff..ewwww when we first moved here the boys went into overload…so many bizarre new smells..they still get very excited…especially when half way down a rabbit burrow!!

  7. Sniffing is the best fun. Humans stink at smelling. (See what I did there?) The only time Mom is a good sniffer is when she says I have dog breath,

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    • That’s a very clever joke, Cupcake! What other type of breath does she expect you to have? They say the strangest things sometimes!

  8. Clowie I am thinking that is your NOSE that KNOWS up there in the pictures! You know they say we should stop and smell the roses, so we should stop and take in all the smells. I love the fresh outside smells (no skunk stink please) and CH says I have a very good nose. I sometimes drive him to distraction with what I smell and hear! How lucky you were to meet up with your friend Sandy!! Enjoy your day Clowie!!!

    • My bipeds sometimes stop to sniff flowers when we’re out on a walk. I can’t understand it, but it does give me time to sniff more interesting things! Enjoy the rest of the week.

  9. I agree with you Clowie, humans can only search with her eyes. Therefore they step in poo while they look for mushrooms :o) That would never happen to a dog :o)

  10. So true, Clowie, about bipeds not seeing. We still don’t understand why ours runs all over the house looking for her glasses when they’re on top of her head! We loved reading about your best bloodhound impression. Good job! wag wag

    • It’s hilarious when they do that thing with the glasses! One of mine was searching for the keys that were in his hand the other day! We thought he meant the other set of keys, BOL!

  11. Cascadian Nomads

    Brychwyn and Huxley snort while tracking too, Clowie. And it also cracks me up! But the really funny part is, despite my inferior nose, I often find what I am seeking sooner than the dogs- maybe we are seeking different things but they always seem so excited about what I find, as if they were looking for it all along! Hmm…

  12. I love your post … And i do recognize myself … I can tell you, Marias nose is completely out of function … She is miss a lot during our walks in the forrest … // Yarri 🙂

    • Yes, bipeds miss a lot on a walk in the forest! There are so many interesting smells of animals that have been along the path.

  13. Nosie kissies to youwooowoooooo! xx, Ku

  14. Always fun to run into a good friend while out! 🙂

  15. Brilliant observation Clowie! Maybe people should trust their noses more than their eyes!

  16. How right you are Clowie! The life of a scent dog is not an easy one! BOL! Bark More, Growl Less Barking from the Bayou!

  17. Very good point as Mom finds it weird that in nose work class we never really look for where the hide is, we just follow our noses and it works wonderfully. Bailie is taking a tracking class on Sunday, can’t wait to hear how she does at that.

    • It seems as though looking would be a distraction from sniffing! I look forward to hearing how Bailie gets on. I hope she enjoys herself!

  18. Well done for finding your friend Clowie:-)

  19. From a bipeds point of view there are some smells it is best if they do not smell!!! You have to admit Clowie they do have a wonderful capacity for producing the most vile and disgusting “odours” from their person on occasions! Usually inappropriate and wholly unsuitable occasions!! Your tracking skill it has to be said are very impressive! Those noses are even better lol they are awesome and big and no doubt add wonders to the snorting and absorbing trail scents 🙂 Bipeds just don’t appreciate the complexities of smelling correctly!!

    • Bipeds don’t understand how to appreciate a smell at all. I think their noses are almost useless! They also have strange ideas about what smells nice. They always wash things when they get a nice odour and then they get that awful “fresh from the washing machine” smell on them!

  20. The girls find all kinds of smell on our woods walks. Since they are usually off leash they can run around a little more to look. Unfortunately for them all the small animals disappear when we are out there. Most of the time they walk with their heads up to see the path to the creek:)

    • Walks in the woods are the best for lots of different smells. I would be keen to get to the creek to splash about! I’d probably take more interest in the smells on the way back again.

Comments are closed.