Indecision

The female biped went shopping and left me at home with the cats. When she got back I heard her stop the car in the lane as near to the front door as she could. The only building beyond us is a farmer’s barn and he hardly ever uses it. A moment later she came in the door with bags of shopping. She told me to wait to greet her as she had some more bags to fetch before moving the car. Then we heard a lorry outside. She groaned and just put the bags down on the floor and hurried out to move the car.

The biped reappeared a couple of minutes later with more bags of shopping. During her absence Pippin had woken up and found the bag of meat. The handles were tied together, but he had made a neat slit in it with his claws and was trying to pull out a package of meat. I was standing there, unsure what to do. I knew he shouldn’t be doing that, but the meat did smell very tempting!

Pippin, the cat, looking innocent

Pippin, trying to look innocent!

The biped said, “Pippin, no!”

But Pippin didn’t stop, he started tugging harder on the package. The biped put the bags down and went across to Pippin. He was very naughty, he still didn’t stop. She took the meat from Pippin and went into the kitchen and put it on the work top, but Pippin followed her and jumped up. She told him to get down, but he wasn’t listening – she had to pick him up and carry him away and put him in another room and close the door.

She came back and said, “You are so good, Clowie! I didn’t mean to leave something so tempting right in front of you. I think you deserve a treat or two, before I check what damage Pippin has done.”

She gave me some treats and made a big fuss of me, then she put the shopping away. After that, she let Pippin out of the room she’d closed him in. He looked around to see if there was any meat left out – he has no shame! The biped gave me some more treats and we had a game together.

I never steal food, but they don’t make a habit of leaving tempting things where I can get them. I hesitated and the opportunity was gone. I’m still not sure what I should do if I get a chance like that again, so I thought I’d ask my friends for advice. I’ve set up a poll with some options and I’d be pleased to hear your ideas in the comments.

Other news

Oscar from My Three Moggies  has been injured in a fight. The good news is that he has been patched up and is at home again, recovering from his ordeal. He’s receiving lots of love and tuna, but I’m sure he’d like some visitors.

I received a parcel yesterday from Easy. I was one of the winners of a contest on his blog. There was a toy for me and treats. He even put in some treats for my cats! Wasn’t that thoughtful of him? Thank you, Easy! I don’t have any pictures yet. If you don’t know Easy, be sure to pay him a visit. There’s always something entertaining and amusing going on at his place.

See you next Wednesday!

111 thoughts on “Indecision

  1. You know you, and “The Persecution Dunlap,” and “The Gardens for Goldens,” simply make me in awe. Kindness….
    and lots of cat (or dog) hair.
    Bravo to you 3 muskateers~

    • Thank you, that’s very good company to be in! You’re right, there’s always loads of hair here. When I’m shedding it’s like tumbleweed, however much I’m brushed.
      I’m always in awe of your beautiful photographs when I visit you.

  2. Dad has a habit of carrying in the bags and sitting them everywhere, the table, floor, or cabinet. We always smell to see what neat things are there, sometimes they are from the pet store with treats and toys. We never touch anything left in the bags we would not get any treats and would be in a lot of trouble. We agree that you were very good Clowie 🙂

    • It’s always interesting to sniff the bags of shopping and find out what is there, but there isn’t usually anything quite as tempting as that bag of meat left there! You’re very good as well!

  3. If you are anything like us you will eat it and blame the food fairy or the cat! Mummy once left a bag of hay in our room with us and both Buddy and Basil broke out and someone, though whee won’t admit who, chewed through the bag, though whee won’t admit why, and pulled out hay and made a mess, which was funny when you saw Mummy’s face!

    Nacho, Noah, Buddy & Basil
    xxxx

  4. What a great girl you are Clowie…Forrest nd Doc would scoff first ask questions..well maybe never 😉 and I am sure the rewards you got were even tastier than purloined goodies 😉 have a a great day HUgs Fozziemum xx

  5. Oh Pippin! No treats for you!!!! I wouldn’t have given June Buggie a chance- I wouldda ate it!

  6. So Pippin is an opportunist cat burgler – true to form then;-) We’re deeply impressed by you Clowie! In our house the dogs are the thieves and we have to put all bags on the counter tops when we come home.

    • Ha, Pippin is very quick when he wants to be naughty! They usually put the interesting bags on the counter top when they come back from shopping, but I could reach them if I wanted to!

      • Forgot about your height! Luckily for us ours are on the small side but many lovely things have gone astray if not put at least a foot back from the edge 😀

        • They had to be very tidy until I learnt some manners! The top of the freezer, about 5ft tall, worked to keep things out of reach until I was about five months old! Then everything had to go in a cupboard, ha ha!

  7. I would eat the meat and blame it on someone else.
    Doggy doesn’t have that option, he’s the only dog at home, but he’s very good, he doesn’t even touch his own food if I don’t tell him to eat.
    I once forgot to tell him eat, I heard him crying some day later and realized he was laying down staring at his bowl. Poor thing.
    You are a good dog too.

    • Doggy is very good and I know how he feels about waiting for food! They have occasionally forgotten to tell me to take my food and I’ve waited, and waited.

  8. Result on getting extra treats!! Well done you, however I have to say I would have wolfed down the meat and then tried to blame the cat – hey maybe that’s a good reason for me to get a cat! BOL

  9. Oh Clowie, sometimes it’s VERY hard to resist temptation but I think you can do it! You are ever so smart and I know that YOU know you shouldn’t “help yourself” to things – Pippin thought he could pull a fast one on your Mom (but he couldn’t) so I think you should just continue to be the VERY good girl that you are and RESIST!

    Kitty Hugs, Sammy

    • You’re probably right, Sammy. It isn’t often that something is that hard to resist! Pippin knew he was being naughty, but he just didn’t care!

  10. Eat it, eat it, eat it and then blame the squirrels. Have a wonderful Wednesday.
    Best wishes Molly

  11. What a good dog you are Clowie. That was very tempting and you resisted. You deserved lots of treats .Take care.

  12. Clowie you are a good girl! A very good girl!! Pippin was a not so good cat but doing what cats do. You are right, they have no shame.. 😉

  13. Clowie you are good! My friend, Winston, also a large Pyrenees, stole an entire grilled steak off the counter one day leaving the knife stuck upright in the wood floor. When his biped saw what happened, she chased him down the hall and into the bedroom where he had it on her bed chewing on it. She was going to take it away from him but then thought, “What am I going to do with it with all the drool on it?” So let him have it. Wish it had been me–it was a good steak! Rex

    • That made me laugh! It’s easy to reach stuff that’s on the counter or the table, if I wanted to. There aren’t really many places that are out of reach!

  14. Ah, Clowie,always love your stories! You did miss your opportunity but also were rewarded for your good behavior with treats and games, so no loss. If all the meat had disappeared it would be difficult to blame on the cat because as you know kitties are usually slow eaters compared to dogs (especially big dogs)!

    Have a wonderful Wednesday!

  15. Clowie, I am quite impressed, you were given several opportunities, and with each you were quite successful. This also taught you a wonderful lesson, one that you could only learn this way. The Female biped will tease you without mercy, will tempt you at every turn, and if you past these tests, you might get a treat or 3. LOL LOL But if you fail the test, you will be joining Pippin, locked up and no treats. You were wise beyond your indecision. You also learned valuable lesson, “always blame the cat.” — Take care, Biped Bill

    • You’re right, I don’t like getting sent to another room. That hasn’t happened to me for a long time and I’d like to keep it that way! They say it was only ever for a few minutes, but it felt like a lot longer. The cat is often to blame – really!!

  16. We really wouldn’t know what to do.See, our pawrents are vegan so if they brought meat into the house we would think it was something tricksy going on..but on the other hand,it’s meat, right? Would it be worth the risk? This is a difficult one, for sure.
    The REAL Maple Syrup Mob xxxxx

    • It is a tough decision to make. It’s worth thinking about because if there is an opportunity you probably won’t have long to act!

  17. I would eat it. The chance that your bipeds think it was Pippin is tooooooo good :o) btw: is Pippin named after the guy of Lord of the Rings?

  18. I would’ve pushed Pippin out of the way, eaten the meat and then stepped back so it looked like the cat did it 🙂

  19. You rock Pippin 🙂 I would of done exactly the same as Misaki BOL.. wasn’t hard for me to vote Bawahwhahhahaah Catch next week Clowie, you’z gonna have to learn some Mischief Girl BOL xxooxxx

    Mollie and Alfie

  20. We would take the meat 🙂 That is so sweet of you mentioning Oscar thank you xxx

Comments are closed.