Not too close!

I was one of the doggies featured on Cat Forsley’s blog recently. If you haven’t seen the post, you should take a look – you may meet a new doggy friend there!

I’m going to tell you about our log fire. When the weather is cold and my bipeds are relaxing, they like to light a log fire. I’ve never found the actual fire particularly interesting, but the logs in the basket at the side of the fireplace are quite tempting! I don’t do more than sniff them now, but when I was a puppy I used to take one or two logs out to play with if I thought no one was looking. They always noticed! One of my bipeds would hand me one of my toys and put the logs back in the basket.

The cats, Mulberry and Pippin, like to sit close to the fire. Pippin is usually sensible, but Mulberry sometimes wants to be too close. When that happens I gently push him with my nose, until he moves away to a safe distance.

Log fire (from Wiki Commons)

Log fire (from Wiki Commons)

When Mulberry was a kitten, I think he would have climbed into the fire if he could. The bipeds were always moving him to a safer distance. They would play with him to try to keep him away from the fire, but he would keep going back again.

I heard my bipeds say that it wasn’t very relaxing having a fire when Mulberry was determined to get so close to it. I also heard them ask Mulberry if he would ever learn! I think he knew they didn’t want him to go so close, but he can be quite determined.

One evening Mulberry had been asleep on the sofa and then got down and approached the fire. I wasn’t sure whether the bipeds had noticed and I was closer to Mulberry, so I stood up and moved and blocked his path. He tried to walk round me, so I gently pushed him with my nose.

The bipeds chuckled and one of them said, “That’s right, Clowie! He’s going too close to the fire again.”

Ever since then, I’ve helped by keeping Mulberry at a reasonable distance from the fire when it’s alight. He doesn’t often need reminding now. Sometimes I suspect he’s teasing me, when he does edge closer to the fire. But I push him away for his own safety. When I settle back down again he’ll come and play with my tail. I think he likes to know that I look after him.

See you next Wednesday!

116 thoughts on “Not too close!

  1. Good for you for watching Mulberry! Woooowooooo! Ku

  2. How sweet is Clowie? Those protective Pyrenees (sp?). You are lucky bipeds.

  3. We did see you over at Cat’s – she did a lovely write up! Glad to hear your herding instincts work for cats too 😉 We’ve heard they are not the easiest animals to work with as this film shows http://youtu.be/Pk7yqlTMvp8

    • Cat’s post is lovely!
      That film shows exactly what it’s like trying to look after cats! I can’t make up my mind which is my favourite part – the cats on the branch or the cowboy trying to remove cat hair!

  4. You’re a true cat-saver Clowie – Mulberry should be thankful! WOOF WOOF!

    • I think Mulberry is thankful in his own way! If something scares him and the bipeds are busy, he comes to me for reassurance.

  5. Awwww Clowie, you are just the sweetest thing, looking after you kitty sibling like that. It’s the most adorable thing I’ve heard in a long time.

  6. Nice one Clowie. You are just the sweetest. Have a wonderful Wednesday.
    Best wishes Molly

  7. We saw you on Miss Cat’s video Clowie – YAY! – you’re an internet star!!!!!!

    Kitty Hugs, Sammy

  8. You are Just a wonderful sweetheart 🙂 🙂 🙂 love you !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Muah xx Cat xx and thanks xx

  9. You are just such a clever pup Clowie, a little darling. We saw you at Cat’s cos wez waz there too.. See ya next Wednesday xx00xxx

    Mollie and Alfie

  10. What a perfect big sister you are, C. Your parents have raised you right! Protecting each other and playing together – that’s what families do. xoxo

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  11. You are so good to get Mulberry away from that fire. That could be a scary situation if things got too close!

  12. You are a perfect kitty-guard – I’m always to close on the fire too (in all ways) :o)

    • Ha ha, if you had a coat as thick as mine, you’d keep your distance from the fire and you wouldn’t sunbathe!

  13. Clowie, you’re such a hero!

  14. Your so lovely to look after him!!

  15. You are a good guard dog…even if it is just protecting a cat…my sister does the same kind of stuff for the cats but we don’t have a fire.

  16. It’s so lovely of you to take such good care of Mulberry, as well as your Bipeds, Clowie! 🙂

  17. What a sweet story and what a sweet dog you are, Clowie!

  18. So sweet, Clowie! Your bipeds are very lucky people to have a guard dog like you. Again, love your stories. Much love, The Scottie Mom.

  19. Jaci bernhardt

    Clowie, thank you for letting me sign up for your posts. Since after 30 years I’m now a Pyrenees house, you remind me how wonderful you guys are–by the way, I also know how stubborn and hard headed you can be but I wouldn’t mention it here.

    • Thank you, I’m glad you want to read my tales! My bipeds do call me stubborn sometimes and I’m prepared to admit that I was a very determined puppy!

  20. Aren’t you just the best dog Clowie, taking care of Mulberry like that…Gizmo has never seen a fire so I’m not sure what he’d do

    • Thank you, it’s important to me to look after everyone in the family. I hope Gizmo wouldn’t go too close to the fire!

Comments are closed.