Spotlight on Milo – Trainee Guide Dog

I’m really excited that Milo has agreed to be my guest today. He is a puppy who is training to be a guide dog. I’m sure you’ll enjoy hearing about him. Put your paws together and give him a warm Clowie’s Corner welcome!

Milo

Milo

Clowie: Thank you for being my guest today. Would you like to tell us about yourself?

Milo: I’m Milo, I’m ten months old and I’m training to be a Guide Dog. My puppy walker, Allie, and I have a blog on the Guide Dogs website. [There have been changes on the website and this is no longer available.] I like food, playing in the garden, chewing stuff, going to the park, gravy bones, ice cubes, being brushed, getting muddy, having baths, my cuddly panda (the other toys all exploded after I chewed them), and learning new things.

C: It’s a mystery to me why they make exploding toys! What else do you do?

Milo: I get bored walking around the shops (seriously, I would rather hang out with the other dogs outside) but I know I have a job to do and I try to be good. I’m not allowed to pull on the lead but it’s hard for me not to do that.

C: I struggled with learning not to pull, but it seems important to bipeds!

Milo: I don’t really like pigeons and squirrels and I like to chase them.

C: Good luck with that, they always cheat – pigeons fly at the last moment and squirrels disappear up a tree! What happens next with your training?

Milo: When I am older – after my first birthday – I will have to leave my current uprights and go to Big Dog School to learn how to be a Guide Dog. If I get everything right, I will be sent to live with a new upright who can’t see and I’ll help them to get around (in exchange for treats and hugs, hopefully).

C: I’m sure you’ll get lots of hugs and treats, it’s very important work! Tell me about your family.

Milo: My mum is Lucy, a lab, and my dad is Parker, a golden retriever. I’m told that I have more than 200 siblings and half-siblings!

Proud parents - Lucy (left) and Parker (right)

Proud parents – Lucy (left) and Parker (right)

C: Wow, that’s a lot of brothers and sisters! Where do you live now?

Milo: I live in Chester with my uprights – The Lady (whose name is Allie) The Man (Jez), The Boy (Reece) and The One Who Stays In His Room And Plays Video Games (Jake).
We have a nice garden with a special corner for me to go to the toilet because I’m not allowed to go on the grass or in the house. I have a big bed with a cushion and a blanket in the kitchen. I have lots of toys to play with.

C: That sounds like fun. Do you have a favourite game?

Milo: I like the one where I stand on the stairs and the uprights try and tell me to come down and I stare at them. I once made The Lady say, “Milo, COME” in a really stern voice 27 times before she got bored and made me come down.

C: Ha, ha, bipeds don’t have the stamina that we do!

Milo: I like digging holes in the garden, but The Man doesn’t like it very much and he fills them in again.

C: I know what that feels like!

Milo: I also like the one where they throw a big squeaky stick for me, then I run off and pretend I’m going to get it. Seriously – if you pick it up and give it back to them, they only throw it again. What’s the point in that?

C: I’m with you on that! I can’t see the point of “fetch“. Do you have a favourite book?

Milo: I don’t read that much, but I do like watching television. My favourite programme is Springwatch, unless they are talking about squirrels. They’re too fast for me to chase. I also like chasing my tail, sleeping and eating.

C: How have you been coping with the hot weather?

Milo: I don’t like the hot weather very much, but I’ve been eating lots of doggie ice pops to keep cool. The Lady makes them by dissolving 1 teaspoon of Marmite in 500ml of hot water. She lets it cool and then pours it into disposable plastic cups and freezes it, but you could use whatever moulds you have.

C: I like the sound of those! Thank you for being my guest today, it’s been fun chatting with you, Milo. I would like to wish you all the best in your future career.

Milo - Guide Dog puppy in training

Milo – Guide Dog puppy in training

You can follow Milo’s progress here:

• Twitter – @MiloGDP

• Guide Dog website – 2013 Diary of a puppy walker [There have been changes on the website and this is no longer available.]

See you next Wednesday!

Update:

18 March 2014: Milo has almost finished his basic training and will move to advanced training and be matched with a person soon.

102 thoughts on “Spotlight on Milo – Trainee Guide Dog

  1. Good luck at Guide Dog School Milo – we know you’ll do really well! Sounds like you have a great life now.

  2. 😀 Wow, what a pawesome interview Clowie! Thanks for chatting Milo!! Ooo, I have a ton of respect for the “working” pups, cause there’s not a snowballs chance in…you get where I’m going… that I’d actually work for a living! I like the pampered and easy life! Hehehe! I’m sure that Milo will help someone amazingly! Hope that Big Dog school goes well and don’t let the squirrel get you down dude!!

    • Hi Goose, I know just what you mean – there are some days when I just want to be lazy! But it must be nice to get to go everywhere with your bipeds.
      I think Milo will make a huge difference in someone’s life.

  3. Paw-ntastic interview. Nice to meet little Milo!

    WOOF!

  4. That was fantastic Clowie, Milo is beautiful and we are sure he will fly through big school. See you next Wednesday xxooxx

    Mollie and Alfie

  5. Wow Milo what a great boy you are with an exciting and impawtnt future ahead of you! Don’t let the squirrels distract you and keep up the good work..great interview Clowie always the utmost respect for working doggies 🙂 Hugs Fozziemum xx

  6. What a great interview and a really interesting life Milo has! Sounds a bit to exciting for us though! Happy Wednesday!

    Nutty, Nacho, Buddy & Basil
    xxxx

    • Thank you! He does have an interesting life and he will be very helpful to someone. You keep your bipeds entertained in your own way!

  7. Good luck Milo on guide dog school. Thank you clowie for sharing.

  8. Milo we wish you the best of luck. We know you will do well and some day you will change someones’ life for the better. Bravo to you. Nice one Clowie. Have a wonderful Wednesday.
    Best wishes Molly

  9. He is so lovely, and seems to have his head screwed on right. I bet he will make a brilliant guide dog

  10. My grandad was blind and one of his guide dogs was called Bertie

  11. Clowie thank you for sharing this story. Milo has an important job ahead and we just want to say he is AMAZING. Love his parents xxx

  12. Great interview…love the photo of the proud parents. That pup has a lot to learn but seems up to the challenge!

  13. Fantastic interview, we loved it, both Maria and I … And we are sure that Milo will be a great guide dog … Thanks for sharing this with us readers ! // Yarri 🙂

  14. It’s nice to meet you Milo… good luck with your training!

  15. My Tara (8 month-old cattle dogX) doesn’t like ‘fetch’ either, Clowie.
    Milo, good luck with ‘big school’! 😛

  16. Clowie you are a wonderful interviewer! Milo we enjoyed meeting you and learning about your work. 8 paws up from us.
    -Bella and DiDi

  17. Milo’s in for a fulfilling life!

  18. Hi Milo, nice to meet you. Your paws look great – you could be a bear too :o) Thanks Clowie for this great interview, Good luck at the School, Milo!

  19. What a grrrrrrrrrrreat dog you are Milo. Thank you so much, Clowie for having this wonderful guy over to your site. Loved the photos, hearing about his huge family, and all the other things he’s doing to help make the world a better place. Like you are, Clowie. wag wag, Max & Bella

  20. Hi Milo! Great to get to know you…you look a lot like my Daisy (super CUTE that is!). Best of luck in your classes and the important work you’ve got planned!

Comments are closed.