My first trip to the vet

When my bipeds first took me home with them I was only six weeks old. I was one of eleven puppies and, as we grew and became more active, my mother’s bipeds were finding it difficult to give us all as much attention as we needed. As we were all healthy, weaned and eating well, they made the decision that some of us should go to our new families early. This would mean that they could give more individual attention to the puppies that remained and the families who took puppies early could give their puppy lots of attention.

I mentioned in “A trip down memory lane” that my bipeds took me home at the weekend and on the Monday morning I was taken to see the vet. My biped rang the veterinary clinic as soon as it opened and asked for an appointment to get a new puppy checked over. She was given an appointment for later that morning and she gave details of my breed and age to the receptionist.

Cat in carrier

You can’t fit a Pyrenean Mountain Dog in this!

An hour later she bundled me into a cat basket! It’s hard to believe that was ever possible! She carried me out to the car and we set off. It wasn’t a long journey, she was soon carrying me into a building. She spoke to the receptionist and then she found a seat in the waiting room. She put the basket, containing me, down by her feet. There were about half a dozen other bipeds in the room, each with a basket or a box – each one containing a potential friend for me.

A door opened and the vet appeared. He caught sight of us and his expression changed, he seemed worried. He called his next patient in and closed the door. Each time he opened his door to call in his next patient he looked in our direction and, each time, he looked even more concerned. My biped checked on me a few times and, each time she did, she seemed more worried.

The tension mounted – it was almost a relief when it was our turn to be called in. My biped put the basket with me in it on the end of a high table.

The vet asked, “What have we here then?”

My biped replied, “A female Pyrenean Mountain Dog puppy, six weeks old.”

He asked, “And what size do you expect her to become?”

My biped gestured just below her waist and said, “About so high, weighing in excess of one hundred pounds.”

Clowie , Pyrenean Mountain Dog, Great Pyrenees, smiling

I’d like to see him lift me up like that now!

Wow! I had some growing to do! She was expecting me to be as large as my mother! The vet went to the corner of the room and started tapping away on his computer.

My biped asked, “Is something wrong?”

He replied, “No, no, I’m just updating the computer.”

He came back and took me out of the basket. He held me up to his face.

He smiled and said, “You’re a hefty little lady!”

He then put me on the table and felt me all over. He peered in my ears and my mouth, he listened to my heart. He picked up some clippers and clipped the dewclaws on my hind legs. He told my biped that they were already growing strongly and she’d need to keep an eye on them. He asked if she was confident about clipping them.

She replied that she was and asked, “Is the puppy healthy?”

He asked, “What is it about the puppy that’s worrying you?”

She replied, “Nothing. It’s just that you appeared worried as soon as you saw us.”

He said, “Oh, you picked up on that! Okay, the receptionist had entered an age of six months, not six weeks, on the system. I wasn’t looking forward to telling you how that puppy is going to grow, if you thought you had an almost fully grown dog!”

My biped smiled and said, “I can imagine!”

The vet also smiled and he said, “She appears to be in excellent health.”

They then talked for ages about all kinds of things related to me, but I’ll tell you about those another time.

Dogs playing poker

We’ve won all the treats!

I don’t know much about poker, but, if that was the vet’s poker face, I’m fairly sure I could beat him. I’d empty his pockets of treats!

See you next Wednesday!

57 thoughts on “My first trip to the vet

  1. Hi dear Clowie…
    I know that going to the vet is quite scary but we want you to be cute and healthy!… Thanks for sharing your experiences.
    Best wishes to you, Aquileana :D

  2. Hi Clowie,

    Ha ha! I like that. Makes you wonder though that this happens… I’m sure that it is one *big* surprise for those owners (excuse the poor pun).

    Have a good day, and give you biped a lick from us!

    – Paul (Farm and Pet Place)

    • Yes, we saw the funny side of it, but it would be quite a shock! The vet said it’s never an easy conversation to have – as you can imagine!

      Have a fun day!

  3. LOL puzzle solved. No wonder the vet looked perplexed. Glad your first trip went OK without incident. Have a wonderful Wednesday.
    Best wishes Molly

  4. BOL oh dear, not the best visit!

  5. Ha ha – how long did it take to outgrow the cat basket? One week? ;-)

  6. Oh Clowie that’s a funny story…..no wonder the vet was giving you the eye before seeing you OUT of the basket!

    Hugs, Sammy

  7. Wow, six weeks is real young to leave your mom! Glad you were and still are healthy. My mom would have been spooked by the vet’s reaction as well.

    • Yes, I was young, but we couldn’t all stay – I settled down quickly with my bipeds.
      My biped laughed about it later, but she was quite worried while we were waiting to see the vet!

  8. boy did that bring back memories!!!! and you are right my boy Jeep grew like I was feeding him miracle grow or something like it!!!

  9. Clowie, What a wonderful story, thank you so much for sharing it. Though I will say I saw the punch line coming, as soon as you said you traveled in a cat carrier. I hope you have a great day, and againd thank you for the am smile. Take care, Biped Bill

  10. There’s definitely a difference. But the most important is that you were healthy, though.

  11. Ha ha! I bet the vet has lots of moments like that! I would have been worrying with him looking at me all worried/concerned too. Hard to believe you were ever in a little old cat basket! Loved the comment that you were a hefty little lady.. :)

    • Yes, he said it can be tricky explaining things to someone! My biped was relieved when she found out why he was concerned. The vet retired a year after that, but he was always nice to me.

  12. Not what you want a nervous vet! It’s great that once that little mis-understanding was cleared up everything seemed to go better.

  13. I can’t believe that a cat basket was big enough for you…. great that you got good news from your vet, to be a healthy puppy is fabulous. My first vet visit was a little weird (yeah what else), I had blood in my poo. but it fortunately was a false alarm and at the end we had a bill and a unfinished tattoo (my dad was at the tattoo-guy as mom sendet SOS) :o)

    • It is hard to believe that I could ever fit in a cat basket! I didn’t have much spare space and a week later it would have been impossible.
      I can understand your mum being worried about you, Easy – I bet your dad got some funny looks for leaving before the tattoo was finished!

  14. Glad you found out why that look. Looks can be scary, especially from a vet or doctor. You in a basket…somehow that is not the first image that comes to our mind about you, BOL. I bet your vets all love you, Clowie. <3 wag wag from your friends in Calif.

    • Yes, it is worrying when a vet or doctor looks worried! That is the only time I’ve been taken out in a basket. I soon became quite an armful to carry!
      Vets generally say that I behave very well, making it easier to examine me.

  15. Clowie, we bet that vet was worried your bipeds knew what they were getting into! That was a very big litter your mom had, she was probably very tired when you all had left.

    • Yes, he was. He was ready to have a long conversation with my biped about me and my needs. It was a large litter, although not that unusual for a Great Pyrenees, and it does take a toll on the mother. It also becomes quite difficult to have that many mischievous pups around the place for the bipeds!

  16. Whee aren’t big fans of the vet. They always want to cut our nails and take our temperature. I ask you. The thermometer goes right up our bee-hinds. A piggies bee-hind is his own concern!

    Nacho, Noah, Buddy & Basil
    xxxx

    • I keep still, but I don’t really like having my temperature taken either! My cats tell me I have nothing to worry about as it’s the same size thermometer he uses for them – you have my sympathy!

  17. 11 puppies? Your mom was an overachiever!

  18. Wow what a story!!! I’m glad everything was ok, and I can imagine how concerned you became when the vet looks at you like that!!!! BOL! Sheesh!
    ღ husky hugz ღ frum our pack at Love is being owned by a husky!

  19. What a cute story! Thanks for sharing a chuckle. I love the doggie poker pic, I’ve always loved that crazy picture but have yet to buy a print of it – yet!
    Love & Biscuits,
    Cathy, Isis & Phoebe
    http://www.dogsluvusandweluvthem.blogspot.com

  20. Lol what a silly vet! Mine told me I would have social problems because I hid behind the sofa the first time my nanny and grampy came to visit. I soon got over that!

    • All puppies do silly things at times! Your vet should have known that it’s the reaction to those things that’s important.
      You’d probably find it difficult to hide there now, ha ha!

I love reading your comments

