Train your dog in 30 seconds

Can this possibly be true? Yes, there are all kinds of things you can usefully do with your dog in 30 seconds.

What’s the snag? Well, just like those fitness plans that promise you can get fit in 30 seconds, I’m not talking about just one period of 30 seconds. You need consistency and repeated instances of 30 seconds. Unlike interval training, you won’t need recovery time after the 30 seconds and you don’t need another 30 seconds straightaway. Each 30 seconds is easy and fitted into your day whenever you have a moment.

Stopwatch

Attribution: Wouterhagens (Own work) [CC-BY-SA-3.0], via Wikimedia Commons

I’ll tell you about some of the things my bipeds did with me in 30 seconds. They would often ask me to “sit” – I’ve explained in “A sit in time saves nine” that this is one of their favourite requests and that they brainwashed me into sitting almost automatically. Well, this is how they did it – 30 seconds here, there and everywhere to request a “sit” and now my bottom parks itself as soon as they say “sit”!

They sometimes asked me to “stand”, or do a “down”, even a very brief “stay”. Sometimes they would just quickly look in one of my ears and give me a treat. At other times they would check one of my paws and give me a treat.

I love being brushed now, but I had a phase as an adolescent when I hated it! They would often come up to me and briefly brush my tail or the backs of my legs, those were the parts I most disliked being brushed, and then they gave me a treat.

Dog biscuit

Another thing my bipeds would do is give me a treat, or just tell me I was being good, when I was settled down quietly. This doesn’t sound like training at all, but it is giving positive reinforcement to a desired behaviour. Even now I’m grown up and know how to behave, I love hearing that I’m good! And I’m pleased to say that they’re still in the habit of telling me so frequently – bless their little cotton socks!

See you next Wednesday!

82 thoughts on “Train your dog in 30 seconds

  1. yes love this. i am sure clowie, you trained your bi-peds in 10 seconds, every 30 minutes……

  2. That’s a great idea Clowie! I do lots of 30 second sits and other stuff with Shiner still. Have to make sure she stays sharp!

  3. Good advice :) Especially the positive reinforcement. Though every time I praise the Idiot, “Good girl, on your Mat!” She looks at me as though I’m the idiot! :)

  4. Your bipeds sure have some nice habits!

  5. Sounds like you have them very well trained!

  6. Sit was the first thingy I learnt :o) I do that even without commands or hand sign… in front of my treat box :o)

  7. Great post …. but the comments (and your responses) are almost better. It’s interesting to get a glimpse into the mind of our canine companions when you talk amongst yourselves. :)

  8. Nice one Clowie and we are so into positive reinforcement. We think you should make training as fun as possible as well. Have a wonderful Wednesday.
    Best wishes Molly

  9. this is true momwithoutpaws only works with me in 30 to 60 seconds throughout the day then I get it.

  10. Sounds like you have them right under your paw!

  11. A treat for 30 seconds of training sounds like a plan. Clowie you have good kind bipeds that make it a joy to be around you. You are a good BIG girl!

  12. Oh Clowie, you’re a master class teacher. <3 <3 <3

  13. Clowie, I feel like I am taking college level Doggie 101, after one of your training sessions. Heck you make me want to “sit” and behave, maybe I too will get a treat. Thanks for the CEU’s take care, Biped Bill

  14. 30 second training! Love it!
    Hope your week is going well Clowie :)
    ღ husky hugz ღ frum our pack at Love is being owned by a husky!

  15. LOL! You are funny today! You are also absolutely correct. Once the basics are down, quick little things here and there turn into big lessons with ease.

  16. Sweet training tips, C. I have a feeling Mom is going to be coming at me with my doggie brush a lot from now on. Thanks a lot…..

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  17. Ah yes, consistency and positive reinforcements are the critical keys to training. I make sure my family knows that every single day…. ;)

  18. I have to confess… I’m pretty lazy about training Rita. But she does know sit very well and we practice it every day! Great advice! You’re so wise, Clowie!

    • Thank you. My bipeds think a good “sit” is very important – they always say it can stop all sorts of mischief before it’s begun!

  19. Those quick 30 seconds here and there can really build up into some long-lasting positive behavior, can’t they? I can think of some bipeds who should have tried this technique with their children! ;)

    • Yes, they do build up and reinforce desired behaviour. I often see the same thing happening with little bipeds as with some dogs. They get no attention while behaving, but get negative attention when misbehaving – sometimes any attention is better than no attention!

  20. Aspen learned to sit the second time I ask so now he always comes where ever I am and sits. Since you can’t get a treat for every sit that wasn’t requested he always gets petted, attention and told he’s good. And Mica has been a great help with potty training. As soon I say potty she gets up and starts outside. Since its a long walk for such a little guy and could be scary going down the ramp and through the crowded garage to the back grass none of those things worry him now because following the big dog made it all seem safe and normal. I always remember to thank Mica and tell her she’s good.

    • I bet he looks cute! I expect the praise and attention will be just as important to Aspen as the treats. I enjoy treats, but I prefer being praised.
      It’s lovely that Mica is helping him. I’m sure it means a lot to Mica to know that you notice her being helpful. I hope she’s feeling better now.

I love reading your comments

