The dog who cried wolf

I was keeping an eye on my bipeds who were preparing food in the kitchen, when I heard them say that it was all ready to go in the oven. They decided that one of them could take me for a walk while the other one watched the food. I’m usually enthusiastic when the word “walk” is mentioned, but I didn’t get straight up to go out.

The biped got ready and called me to the door and attached my lead. She called out “goodbye” and we set off. We had only walked a few yards when I started to limp. We stopped and the biped knelt down and I gave her my paw. I had a sorrowful look on my face. She took my paw and looked at it and she felt between my toes. She felt along my leg and put it down.

She said, “I can’t see anything, Clowie. Try a step or two and see if it still hurts.”

I put my paw down and hobbled a few paces. Then I stopped and gave her a mournful look. She knelt down and checked my paw again.

She said, “I don’t know what the problem is, Clowie. We’d better go back.”

Androcles' lion with bandaged paw

My poor paw!
Androcles’ Lion, Duthie Park Winter Gardens (Aberdeen, Scotland)
Attribution: Paul Chapman [CC-BY-SA-2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

We returned slowly. She opened the door and we went in. She detached my lead and I dashed to the kitchen and took up position by the oven to wait until the pheasant was cooked. The biped followed me. She stood in the doorway and looked at me for a moment. I could tell she knew that I had been faking the limp – I’d done it once before, but I’ll tell you about that another time.

She said, and at this point puppies should cover their ears for a moment, “You are a bad dog.”

Yes, that’s what she said. B.A.D. Bad! You can uncover your ears now, puppies. They hardly ever say that to me and it worries me when they do. Then she told me to get out of the kitchen. I hesitated because I really wanted to keep my nose in the vicinity of the pheasant and the other delightful smells. She said, “now” in a stern voice, so I left the kitchen with head and tail held low.

She told me that I was like the boy who cried wolf and that I wouldn’t get help when I needed it. That was obviously a whopping great fib! They’re always worried and rush to help me if there’s something wrong.

They left me on my own for a few minutes. When they called me to go and join them, I leapt up and scurried into the room. They wanted me to do some of my tricks. I did them as well as I could and I pretended not to notice that they were being stingy with the treats! It was worth it because it wasn’t long before I heard the words “good girl” and I became excited and then they made a fuss of me.

I knew I had a full pardon when I was given a tiny piece of pheasant later. I’ve never pretended to be hurt since then, but I have walked as slowly as possible occasionally when they’ve chosen to go the wrong way on a walk!

See you next Wednesday!

96 thoughts on “The dog who cried wolf

  1. I did the same thing, Clowie. I cried wolf. I don’t like getting my nails clipped, so one time when Mommy was clipping my nails, I yiped to stop her, but it was too soon – she hadn’t even touched my paw yet. She was just bringing out the clipper and I yiped when I saw it. She used the “b-a-d” word that time too. I haven’t done it since.

  2. Oh Clowie, that is very funny! We’ve never experienced that with ours but will keep an eye out and report back if we ever do.

  3. There was a time I would have been incredulous, but I’ve seen Eko pull the same move. Those little fakers know how to tug on our heartstrings!

  4. Clowie Clowie Clowie…I am just thinking of how clever you are and I wish I would have thought of that –. I am just not that good of an actor. I think you should have continued to limp until you got the pheasant and then the NEXT day start (ahem) getting better…;o) WOOF

  5. Whee do that when the hoomans are clipping our claws. Buddy in particular will whimper and whine from the moment he sees the clippers and do a screaming squeak every time the snap shut . . . even if it’s not on his claw! He is such a diva and Mummy tells him not to be such a bad boy too!

    xxxx

  6. Next time Clowie, limp even more, because then you will probably get a bigger piece of the pheasant.

  7. Now that was super Mischief, I had never thought of that Clowie.. Pheasant is better than a walk, any day BOL.. Catch ya next week xxoxxx

    Mollie and Alfie

  8. But you just wanted to help your biped in the kitchen! I can’t believe they used the b word!

  9. Clowie there is no fooling you. Pawsome acting pal. We think you deserve an Oscar for that performance. Have a wonderful Wednesday.
    Best wishes Molly

  10. That is a funny and very sneaky story
    Enjoyed reading.
    Emu

  11. Oh Clowie that’s too funny, what an sneaky move! I might have to try that LOL

  12. Oh I have to remember that one I wonder if it will work for me

  13. Clowie you are a very smart girl! not really B.A.D. just C.L.E.V.E.R hugs Fozziemum xx

  14. You are a scamp Clowie. I would like to bet the bipeds had a few giggles when they sent you out of the kitchen.

    • I’m almost sure I heard one of them say, “Don’t let her see you think it’s funny!” But the risk of being called that horrid word is too great!

  15. Wow what a clever trick, Clowie :o) The Fox Terrier of my grandparents did the same once, sadly the plan failed, because they brought her to the vet instead home :o)

  16. Ooooh Clowie!! Silly girl. If you had stayed out you have have been given more of the pheasant. At least you learned from it :-)

  17. That was a clever trick, Clowie! I never let my humans clip my nails, I struggle like no tomorrow and I scream as loud as possible. In the end, they send me to the groomer :(

    ~Eva

  18. Our Gracie did something similar – she would race around like crazy outside, then come in and limp and hold up a paw that she’d ripped a nail on weeks earlier. Any time someone she hadn’t seen for a while came around she would start limping and hold her paw up to show them so they would say, “Oh, poor Gracie!” Our person says that’s why Gracie is named for an actress (Gracie Allen). Gracie says it’s important Clowie, to be consistent when you know the people are looking :-)

    • I think Gracie is right, I should have kept the act up for longer. It sounds as though Gracie works it well to get lots of attention!

      • Between you and me Clowie, Gracie is a total drama queen.
        One day when our person was spending too much time in the kitchen, Gracie went in, dropped onto her side and stuck her legs out and wouldn’t move so our person was tripping over her…when our person said she was getting biscuits out of the next room Gracie was suddenly able to leap to her feet.
        We don’t hear ‘bad’ very often but we do hear ‘bonehead’ – I bet you don’t hear that one Clowie – it seems to be a special word for Gracie.

        • Ha ha, it sounds as though Gracie has cried wolf too often! I don’t think I’ve ever been called ‘bonehead’, but they had some rude names for me when I was a pup!

  19. Ha! Wow Clowie! You are super smart huh?!?!
    Good on ya!
    I’m glad you got a piece of pheasent in the end to!
    Have a pawsitively pawsome day!!
    ((Husky hugz))
    Frum our pack at love is being owned by a husky

  20. Clowie I SERIOUSLY think you are one of the most BRILLIANT woofies I have EVER met! Faking a limp to try to score some pheasant? You are my heroine!! I am in complete awe of you! I know your bipeds didn’t appreciate it but your woofie pals sure did! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

I love reading your comments

